Review: The Faerie Path by Frewin Jones

the_faerie_path

Favorite Line: “Faeries tread the faerie path

Amber-trapped though moth-wing light they be

Mortals stay in mortal world

Ironclad with half-blind eyes they see

One alone will walk both worlds

Daughter last of daughters seven

With her true love by her side

Honest hand in true love given.” (Advance Copy p.40)

As Anita Palmer nears her 16th birthday, she has quite a lot going for her. She’s got a group of friends, she up for the role of Juliet in the school play, and the guy playing Romeo is her new boyfriend, Evan. The night before her birthday, she and Evan are in an accident and Anita is thrust into the realm of Faerie. Once there, she discovers that she is actually Tania, the lost princess of Faerie. Anita meets her Faerie royal family and learns about her previous life. There are many new people and Anita soon realizes not everyone is as they seem. 

As I was in the mood for a story involving the fey, I decided to read The Faerie Path. I was enjoying the story enough up to the point where Anita is taken into the Faerie realm. Everyone is new, except that Evan is also there. She learns that he has deceived her and she is devastated. The author describes her as heart broken. Yet, in the next moment, she is just fine. That bothered me. She forgets about her true love in a matter of seconds and carries on right after feeling “emotions that burned through her were as intense as anything she had ever known in her life” (Advance Copy p. 59).  

After first arriving in the new realm, she understandably believes she is in a dream. More and more evidence comes forth to suggest otherwise, but it takes half the book for her to realize it isn’t all in her head. Another thing was the author’s writing style. There were too many exclamation points for my taste, and for being a fantasy novel, there was very little imagination. Not many supernatural events take place. I also thought the story dragged on. It didn’t pick up until the very end, and I found myself skimming through many pages. Needless to say, I will not be reading the next book in the series.

D

For: Pre-Teens

Ruby

 

 

-Ruby

Author’s Web Site                                                                                     Purchase

~ by thebizarrelibrary on January 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Review: The Faerie Path by Frewin Jones”

  1. I read this book in addition to the ones that followed in the series. To tell the truth I was also disappointed in how she had been so in love and then heartbroken, but I think I was more captured by the story happening around her. The next few weren’t too bad. I think I’ll continue reading for the sake of knowing what happens next.

  2. Yeah, unfortunately I could not keep that from bothering me. Just not my cup of tea, I suppose. I’m glad that you liked it though and the ones following. Thank you for the feedback!!

    -Ruby

Leave a Reply

 
