Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Favorite Passage: ” ‘Can’t you ever get off for good behavior?’ he joked. I gave him what I hoped was a seductive smile as I found my seat. “Sure,” I called over my shoulder. ‘If I was ever good.’ ” (p.74)

“Strigoi” are evil vampires who take pleasure in killing. “Moroi” are good vampires who believe in living peacefully with everyone. “Dhampirs” are the half-vampire, half-human gaurdians of the Moroi. Rose Hathaway (the Dhampir) and Lissa Dragomir (the Moroi) share a special bond. A bond stronger than just friendship. After spending two years in hiding, Rose and Lissa are forced to return to their vampire boarding school. 

Back at school, life sort of picks up where it left off two years ago – for a while. Soon, strange things begin happening at school, and they are targeted at Lissa. Rose fears for her, and hopes these mean spirited pranks won’t spur the events that led up to them leaving in the first place. Rose must be strong for Lissa, to shield her from what is unfolding at the Academy. Rose also has to learn to work with Dimitri, Lissa’s appointed guardian while at school. All Rose wants is to protect Lissa from everyone…even from herself. 

Vampire Academy is the first of the new series of the same name by Richelle Mead. Having never read anything by Ms. Mead before, I dove right in, not knowing what she had in store for her readers. The action started immediately in the first chapter and with a quick welcome pace that kept up throughout the entire story. 

Rose Hathaway has a calling to be the guardian of Lissa Dragomir from the evil, blood lusting Strigoi.  Rose is the central character, though she is not a vampire herself. As the story developed and I got to know the two heroines, I was pleasantly surprised with how much I liked them. Lissa is very sweet and has an immense sensitivity and love for all living things. She does, however, struggle with demons from her past. Rose is determined to protect her friend, although still has fun with her fellow Dhampirs. Her sense of humor is sarcastic and a breath of fresh air for me compared to some drab and typical “humor” I have read in the past. As I was reading, I kept imagining her as an Ellen-Page-From-Juno type with perfect timing and quick wit. I actually found myself laughing aloud (not an easy feat for an author, mind you) at some of her comebacks to the snobby girls of the academy. There is a touch of “romance-a-brewing” for both of the girls via the mysterious Christian and Dimitri.

My only dislike was the student’s immature attitude towards sex.  I guess this was because they are only 17.

Two days was all it took for me to complete this book, so it can be safely stated that I never got bored with the plot line. Mead’s writing style is attuned very well for an easy flowing read that will keep you turning pages into the night. I know it was hard for me to put it down, especially with cliffhangers she would leave at the end of several chapters. 

Rose’s facetious banter and her sister-like bond with Lissa make me want to see what happens next. I found myself becoming attached to these characters, and I could easily see myself being friends with Rose, a very intriguing girl. Good stuff, Ms. Mead. Bring on the next! 

 A+

For: Lovers of vampires, with a touch of Harry Potter (school setting and something huge happening at the end) and Blood and Chocolate (similar spunk in the main character)

                                                                                                 -Ruby

Purchase

 Author’s Web Site

~ by thebizarrelibrary on July 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
