Review: Evernight by Claudia Gray

9780061284441

Favorite Passage: “Her vehemence startled me. ‘You sound like you know what you’re talking about.’ ‘What, you never watched a Lifetime Original Movie?” (Advance Copy p.101)

Admission to the Evernight School is not something the headmistress Mrs. Bethany grants carelessly. Bianca Olivier is a new student at Evernight thanks to her parents taking teaching positions at the school. Bianca is unhappy in her current situation. She has been forced out of the life she has always known and into a weird and ancient school. She is not looking forward to the remaining years of high school. 

But then she meets Jared. Jared is a gorgeous guy with whom Bianca can be herself, but he says it would be too difficult for them to be together, or at least that’s what Jared keeps telling her.  They have a connection to each other that cannot be ignored. Secrets and lies soon start to fly around Bianca’s world and she must discover who her true allies are and who to believe.

Evernight had me interested just by reading the title. Throw in a boarding school that is creepy and gothic and I’m good to go. 

I started the book and the story was able to grab me in the first couple of chapters. It moved quickly and kept me curious about the school and all of its centuries of history. The relationship between Bianca and Jared moved fast and I had to know how it would pan out. 

Claudia Gray creates some interesting secondary characters. She writes them so that it is easy to really like the friends of the main characters. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked the background people.  They had personality and I found myself more interested in them than the main characters. 

In the novel there are two major twists. The first one comes about halfway into the book. It comes completely out-of-nowhere and I don’t mean that in a good-surprise-shocker sort of way. It doesn’t flow with the story. This secret, in my humble opinion, should have been revealed much earlier in the story for it to be more believable. Overall, it just didn’t fit, and I had to put the book down for a few days before continuing. Oddly enough, I rather liked the second twist. It kept the story going and I was able to appreciate it rather than it just frustrating me. 

I did appreciate the author’s writing and I have to give Ms. Gray credit with this being her first novel. I do feel, however, that Evernight has run its course and could have just been a stand alone book rather than a series.  If Claudia Gray writes a stand alone book, I might just pick it up.

B-

For: Lovers of ancient school atmosphere, vampires

Ruby

 

 

-Ruby

Author’s Web Site                                                       Purchase 

~ by thebizarrelibrary on March 27, 2009.

3 Responses to “Review: Evernight by Claudia Gray”

  1. Nice review! I actually loved the first twist because I never would have expected it. This is what’s fun about everyone reviewing books – different opinions :)

  2. I agree with you about the first twist being out of place and bizarre.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

